An Open Letter in Solidarity with Journalists of Color Working within the US


Pricey Your Excellency Robert Wooden Johnson, Ambassador of america of America to the United Kingdom of Nice Britain and Northern Eire,

We’re a set of journalists and broadcasters of color working in the UK. Between us we work for each main British broadcaster, quite a few information retailers and a variety of media.

We unreservedly condemn the arrest of African-American correspondent Omar Jimenez and his fellow crew members, together with producer Invoice Kirkos and photojournalist Leonel Mendez, reporting for CNN on the unrest in Minneapolis following the brutal dying of  African-American George Floyd by the hands of police in Minneapolis.

Whereas Jimenez and his staff have been launched following the intervention of the president of CNN and Governor Tim Walz, we observe that CNN’s white reporter Josh Campbell, who was working shut by together with his staff, was not arrested. We don’t consider this can be a coincidence or that the distinction in race between the 2 reporters was incidental.

It’s essential that journalists have the ability to conduct their work with out worry of arrest or harassment by officers. It is necessary that this is applicable to all journalists regardless of their race, gender or faith to ensure that the journalism that’s produced to actually replicate the US’s wealthy range. That is much more essential when reporting on points that particularly pertain to the nation’s individuals of color. 

We consider that the arrest, seen internationally, units a worrying precedent for a way international locations deal with journalists, particularly these perceived as coming from racial minorities, and the way they are often detained and stopped from doing their essential work. We search reassurance from you, in your place as Ambassador, that British journalists will have the ability to work within the US with out worry of arrest and that you’ll do all the things in your energy to make sure that this potential worldwide precedent is just not set.

To this finish we name for a right away condemnation of the arrest by the US Ambassador, and all American officers based mostly within the UK.

We additionally name for a right away inquiry, not solely into the arrest of Omar Jimenez but in addition into the therapy of all black journalists and journalists of color by American authorities.

We name for the instant suspension of the law enforcement officials concerned within the arrest of Jimenez and his staff till this inquiry is full. 

We stand in solidarity with Omar Jimenez and all journalists of color who’re reporting on racism in America.

Yours sincerely,

Marcus Ryder (Appearing Chair of the Sir Lenny Henry Centre for Media Variety)

Aaqil Ahmed, Aaron Akinyemi, Abu Hamza, Ade Adepitan, Adrian Lester, Afua Adom, Afua Hirsch, Andrée Massiah, Aina J Khan, Alex Murray, Alex W. O. Enahoro, Amy Corridor, Angela Ferreira, Angelica Udueni, Anisa Subedar, Anjula Singh, Ann Marie Goodwin, Annissa Warsame, Anthea Lee, Antoine Allen, Arti Lukha, Ashionye Ogene, Ashley John-Baptiste, Ayo Akinwolere, Ayshah Tull, Barnie Choudhury, Biz Pears, Catherine Byaruhanga, Charlene Chan-Popo, Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff, Claire Clottey, Claire Rutter, Clive Myrie, Daniel Henry, Danny Vincent, Darren Lewis, David Olusoga, Derek Bardowell, Dhruti Shah, Diane Evans, Dr David Dunkley Gyimah, Egon Cossou, Elaine Dunkley, Emma Ko, Eno Adeogun, Faisal A. Qureshi, Farhana Haider, Gary Younge, Genelle Aldred, Gillian Joseph, Girish Desai, Girish Juneja, Greg McKenzie, Hannah Ajala, Henry Bonsu, Hewete Haileselassie, Hila Might, Hugh Muir, Hugh Woozencroft, Husna Rizvi, Jaja Muhammad, Jameisha Prescod, Jamsheda Younger, Jasmine Dotiwala, Jatinder Dhillion, Jay Davidson, Jayson Mansaray, Jessica Phillips, Joanna Corridor, Joice Etutu, Jones Awuah, Jordan Jarrett Bryan, Joseph Izzard, Juliana Olayinka, Okay. Biswas, Kaamil Ahmed, Karen Gabay, Katie Mark, Kavita Patel, Keme Nzerem, Kiri Kankhwende, Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Kuba Shand-Baptiste, Kumail Jaffer, Kurt Barling, Lee Jasper, Lenny Henry, Liliane Landor, Lincoln Hooper, Liv Little, Lola Okolosie, Lovejit Dhaliwal, Lynda Smith, Maaiysa Valli, Marc Wadsworth, Marcia Mascoll, Marcus Ryder, Marverine Cole, Marvyn Harrison, Matt Kay, Maxine Watson, Maya Davis, Maysaa Jankara, Meera Syal, Michelle Matherson, Miriam O’donkor, Misan Harriman, Mohamed Madi, Mugabi Turya, Nadine White, Natalie Rose, Nels Abbey, Nike Jonah, Nike Komolafe, Nisha Lahiri, Nora Fakim, Omega Douglas, Oruj Defoite, Pat Younge, Priscilla Nwikpo, Ramzan Karmali, Rebecca Omonira-Oyekanmi, Rene Bissohong, Reya El-Salahi, Ria Chatterjee, Rianna Croxford, Rodney Hinds, Ronke Phillips, Roohi Hasan, Rowena Twesigye, Rubia Dar, Saadeya Shamsuddin, Saidata Sesay, Sajjid Kharodia, Sangeeta Kandola, Scarlette Douglas, Sean Fletcher, Sejal Karia, Seren Jones, Serena Barker-Singh, Settit Beyene, Shaista Aziz, Sharmaine Lovegrove, Shoku Amirani, Shola Mos-Shogbamimu, Simone Pennant, Sohail Shah, Sola Renner, Soraya Auer, Suhail Patel, Swarzy Macaly, Symeon Brown, Talah Kaddourah, Tali Ramsey, Tam Hussein, Tamala Caesar, Tamanna Rahman, Tanya Motie, Tarah Welsh, Tej Adeleye, Thamsanqa Zhou, Thomasina Jordan-Rhodes, Tokunbo Salako, Tola Mbakwe, Tolu Adeoye, Toyin Amusan, Warren Nettleford, Zing Tsjeng, Zubeida Malik.

The next organisations additionally co-sign this letter:

BECTU Black Member’s Subcommittee, Nationwide Union of Journalists’ Black Members Council, British East Asians in Display & Theatre TV Collective, The Race Beat, EMPower –  ITN workers group of BAME journalists and technicians.